Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob

Tegan and Sara review

Genre: , ,

1. "Closer" 3:29
2. "Goodbye, Goodbye" 3:26
3. "I Was a Fool" 3:24
4. "I'm Not Your Hero" 3:51
5. "Drove Me Wild" 3:49
6. "How Come You Don't Want Me" 2:53
7. "I Couldn't Be Your Friend" 4:19
8. "Love They Say" 3:35
9. "Now I'm All Messed Up" 4:08
10. "Shock to Your System" 3:36

Verdict: 3 / 5

Tegan and Sara are in fact sisters, twins who work together to produce this, their 7th album. Hailing from Canada, I wonder why we haven’t heard more of them before on the international stage, as they seem to produce pop-rock fusions that are quite a bit more skillful than the average pop artist, and yet are irritably catchy at the same time. Despite everything else, I think right from the outset before anything else, that they are definitely worth at least a listen or two, even if they aren’t your favorite genre.

Tegan and Sara heartthrob review

On this latest album, Heartthrob, the pop is mixed together with synth and electro to create something a little further away from their usual indie rock style productions. It never sinks into dubstep territory, and the musical skill is still audibly present throughout. Each track seems tailor made for radio play, but this has the quality of sometimes making them seem to blend into one another, and when listening to this album in the background it might be hard sometimes to separate where one track ends and another begins.

Lyrically speaking, the album seems trapped in a weird place, where half the time they seem to sound like a normal pop album, and the other half they seem to be ironically attacking the same concepts and material. I suspect it was their intention to make the irony a bit more obvious, but in the end they become caught up in their own nostalgia about the themes they’re addressing, which are very ‘90s and even late ‘80s at times.

Tegan and Sara’s Heartthrob is very much worth checking out, but I have the sneaking suspicion this album isn’t their best work, which should be kept in mind at all times.

[yframe url=’http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jeu7BjX9HYk’]

Written by