Juicy J – Stay Trippy Review



1. Stop It
2. Smokin' Rollin' f. Pimp C
3. No Heart No Love f. Project Pat
4. So Much Money
5. Bounce It f. Trey Songz & Wale
6. Wax
7. Gun Plus A Mask f. Yelawolf
8. Smoke A Nigga f. Wiz Khalifa
9. Show Out f. Big Sean & Young Jeezy
10. The Woods f. Justin Timberlake
11. Money A Do It
12. Talkin' Bout f. Chris Brown & Wiz Khalifa
13. All I Blow Is Loud
14. Bandz A Make Her Dance f. Lil Wayne & 2 Chainz
15. Scholarship f. A$AP Rocky
16. If I Ain't

Verdict: 3 / 5

After a resurgence, thanks to the massive crossover hit “Bandz A Make Her Dance”, Juicy J, who reigns from the Oscar-winning rap group Three 6 Mafia, debuts his solo album, Stay Trippy. While it’s clear that he’s not much of a rapper, the record was met with generally positive reviews from music critics, mostly because of its balance of good humour and impressive production. There are no pearls of wisdom offered here. Most of the music is strictly about money, strippers and boasting in his success – the usual rap clichés. The only major difference is that the Memphis rapper often comes across as Dave Chappelle behind the mic. And that does mean quite a few laughs at the ridiculous lyrics.


A week prior to its release fans were able to preview Stay Trippy by playing an online video game, which involved throwing bills at strippers to keep them from falling from a pole. We kid you not. This is the same ludicrousey that runs rampart on the album’s playlist, where he comments on strippers and how the right twerking could win them a scholarship – courtesy of Juicy J, of course. Each song sounds like a hip hop anthem, with repetitive chanting choruses and strings. It’s a formula that he has mastered over his 20 year career and boy does he know it. Furthermore, he is aware of his success of Bandz A Make Her Dance and mentions it on every second song, riding the wave all the way to the end of the 16 track album. “If giving head was a college, she would be summa cum laude/ She treat my d**k like a pistol, I treat her face like a target/ I told em ‘Bandz A Make Her Dance”, he mutters on So Much Money, an example of one of the many tracks that he hopes will follow up the hit track, also featured on Still Trippy.

Featuring a host of friends, who include Lil Wayne, Trey Songz, Wale, Wiz Khalifa and Chris Brown, Stay Trippy never loses fuel and has very few “fill-er” tracks. The production is also praise worthy, making use of a strange pitch changing gimmick throughout. However, the best song is delivered by the help of Justin Timberlake and Timbaland on “The Woods” track. Timbo’s product stands out like a sore thumb on the album. The JT-featured track has the singer giving a lover permission to unleash the animal inside.

Stay Trippy is an instruction manual to entering a flashy, superficial and shallow world where the only things that matter are getting high, having sex and making money. Juicy J is as deep as a sewer rat, boasting about his love for drugs and partying. It will make you ponder about the poor state of our world. You’ll want to hate it so badly, but it’s hard to deny its charm. Because of the content, I could never recommend it, but I also can’t deny that it’s catchy and well produced.

[yframe url=’http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lgSH3LPfo6g’]

Written by