Icona Pop – This Is… Review


Genre: ,
Label: ,

1. I Love It (feat. Charli XCX)
2. All Night
3. We Got The World
4. Ready For The Weekend
5. Girlfriend
6. In The Stars
7. On A Roll
8. Just Another Night
9. Hold On
10. Light Me Up
11. Then We Kiss

Verdict: 4 / 5

Even if you don’t know Icona Pop, you know one of their songs. “I Love It” has played in that Samsung S4 ad, and also in ads for many MTV shows. So yes, boys and girls, here we have authentic evidence that advert music comes from real people, and that they might indeed have more music to share with us. Which, as it turns out, is actually not too bad.

Icona Pop is a female Swedish duo, and this is their first global record release in their career. The tracklist itself almost gives the full view of their characteristic themes and styles: “We Got the World; Ready for the Weekend; Girlfriend; Then We Kiss…” These are just some of the songs that describe Icona Pop’s view on life: It’s okay to have fun, it’s okay to be young and it’s great to have fun and be young if it’s with your friends. None of this is critical or preachy or naïve in any way though, these ladies are out to enjoy life and live it to the fullest, and they can do that on their own terms, which is great.

Icona Pop also expresses a mood that can best be described as the girl-group style female unity from the ‘90s but distilled into an electronic form 20 years later. The songs are unashamedly from a female point of view, but I do not mean that critically at all, why shouldn’t they be? The duo are women, are proud of being women, and embrace their femininity through their music as they do in their lives. And of course men can listen to this album too and enjoy it, because the messages of fun and love and happiness translate for everyone. But at the same time, it’s nice to see that Icona Pop haven’t tried to dilute themselves and their characters out of their album in an attempt to make it more “accessible.” Because right now, the album is strong, fun, uplifting and definitely uplifting, with only a few songs below par. Not bad for a global debut, in other words.

[yframe url=’http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0FWRT9C9XMQ’]

Written by